top of page

NEWS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie @ Bethany's Legacy

#87 Returns For Third Year Between Pipes

Updated: Apr 10, 2018

The first registration for this years memorial game was completed by Solihull Spartans' goaltender and assistant manager Harry Minns, who returns for his third year participating in the Bethany-Shannon Memorial Ice Hockey Festival. We are so excited to see Minns between the pipes again in the 2018 festival!




"There was a moment in last years game which made me think, "how the hell did I get here when I could not even skate 2 years ago?". I got in position in net, family all around, and realised that #58 in D for me was in actual fact David Clements, a player I have stood and cheered on at (Coventry) Blaze games since the 2015/16 season. That really made me realise how big this festival had become and how lucky I am to be asked to play each year."

Feeling impatient and keen to discuss this years event, we caught up with Harry and talked all things hockey and Bethany's Legacy. Harry has been a huge support to BL and this event for several years and has showed his interest in the event from the registration process right up until and after the weekend itself. Wondering what it is that made Minns so interested in this festival in particular, we figured it was time to talk to the man himself.

"When I started playing ice hockey 3 years ago, I never thought I would have the chance to not only play in a festival to help such a good cause and a friend, but to also play alongside such a range of players. When Simon Preston (Founder of BL, Father to Bethany-Shannon) asked me to fill the space of one of the nets, I was overjoyed. It has now become the highlight of my hockey calendar!"

Harry continued to talk to us about the festival itself; "The festival is always fun and moving. The memorial game is the most friendly and relaxed game I have played. The same goes for the tournament starting after the memorial game and continuing the next day. Although I was playing for the Coventry Centurions, I have made friends from several teams all because of the great atmosphere."


Eager to find out who Harry's biggest competition has been over the past two years, we asked if any players in particular have made him blink twice. Harry's response made us smile! - "There was a moment in last years game which made me think, "how the hell did I get here when I could not even skate 2 years ago?". I got in position in net, family all around, and realised that #58 in D for me was in actual fact David Clements, a player I have stood and cheered on at (Coventry) Blaze games since the 2015/16 season. That really made me realise how big this festival had become and how lucky I am to be asked to play each year."


Harry has always played on Team Bethany, wearing the #87 jersey with pride and we are looking forward to seeing him back guarding the net for his third consecutive event.



Be sure to be at the Skydome on Saturday 9th June 2018 to show Harry and the rest of Bethany's Blazers and Shannon's Lions your support!



Bethany's Legacy would like to take this opportunity to thank Harry Minns for his continued support and for his time in answering our many questions.

0 comments
bottom of page